Login NowClose 
Sign In to perutribune.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

County is prepped for early voting

BY HEATHER COX - hcox@chronicle-tribune.com

Now that the voting registration deadline for the primary elections has passed, voters can prepare to begin with early voting later this month.

According to county clerk Sherry Raber, early voting will begin on April 22 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the courthouse, Mondays through Fridays. The courthouse will also be open on two Saturdays, April 27 and May 4, from 10 a.m. until 5 p.m., she said. Additionally, Area Five, located on Main Street in Peru, will host early voting hours on those two Saturdays at the same time.

Voting will also take place on May 6 from 8 a.m. until 12 p.m., which Raber said will be the cut-off for early voting. Primary Election Day will take place May 7.

So far, Raber said they are working to get pole workers prepared and through pole worker training. She said they have already reconfigured the machines to this specific election and candidates. Other than that, Raber said they’re “ready to go.” The only thing that’s left to do is make sure there are people there to work the poles.

Voters can expect the same process and routine as usual, Raber said.

Additionally, Raber said if voters are interested in an absentee ballot for this election, they can be requested and sent to them by mail. The last day for ballots to be mailed by request is April 29 to give time for them to be received and counted on election day, she said.

For Peru, individuals will see three republican mayoral candidates, Wayne Bunker, Miles Hewitt and David Makin along with one democratic candidate, Gabriel Greer.

The ballots will also include two Democrats for City Council at-large seats, Steve Anderson and Carrie Young, and three Republicans, Lora Disbro, Andrea Harris and Kathleen Plothow.

Two Republicans are running for City Council seats in District 1, Joseph Molyneux and current member Blane Holland.

District 2 candidates are Republican Tom Gustin and Democrat Brian Arwood. Distict 3 candidates are Republican Peter Sahaidachny and Democrat Jason Bowman. District 4 candidates are Democrat Chery Lee and Republican Patricia Russell. District 5 candidates are Mark Ramsey and Democrat Joyce Greer.