Login NowClose 
Sign In to perutribune.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Spring All-TRC awards cap 2018-19 athletics calendar

1 / 3
ALL-TRC SOFTBALL: North Miami's Maryann Freeman was one offive Warriors to earn All-TRC First Team status in softball alongside Ashley Lackman, Marlie Halterman, Allie Miller and Taylor Tinney. Freeman was also named to the TRC All-Academic team, one of 14 North Miami athletes named to the All-Academic team or earning Honorable Mention status.
2 / 3
ALL-TRC GIRLS' TRACK AND FIELD: Maconaquah seniors Ashley Jess (L) and Bailey Hays (R) earned All-TRC First Team status as part of the winning 1600-meter relay team at the TRC Track and Field Meet alongside Janet Johnston and Jolee Holland. Jess was one of seven Braves earned Honorable Mention All-Academic honors whileHays was one of 12 Maconaquah athletes named to the TRC All-Academic team. In addition, hays was awarded with the TRC Distinguished Athlete award and the TRC Mental Attitude award.
3 / 3
ALL-TRC BASEBALL: Peru's Daunte Majors was one of two Tigers to earn All-TRC First Team honors for baseball alongside Kade Townsend. Majors was also named toTRC All-Academic team, one of 14 Peru athletes to make the All-Academic team, along with seven others who earned Honorable Mention status.

BY TRENT SCOTT - tscott@perutribune.com

The spring All-TRC athletic and academic lists for the 2018-19 school year have been released and Miami County athletes once again were honored for their work throughout the spring athletics season.

Members of the All-TRC baseball, softball and girls’ tennis were selected by the conference coaches while All-TRC track and field and boys’ golf members are determined by their respective conference meets.

In baseball, North Miami won the school’s first sectional title with All-TRC First Team honors given to Jackson Green, Nate Musselman and Eli Henderson, along with Maconaquah’s Cody Koebler and Hunter Hays and Peru’s Kade Townsend and Daunte Majors.

Honorable Mention All-TRC status was awarded to Warrior Alex Masters, Brave Zac Snyder and Tiger Chance Ogle.

In softball, North Miami won the TRC title with an 8-1 record with All-TRC First Team honors given to Ashley Lackman, Allie Miller, Marlie Halterman, Maryann Freeman and Taylor Tinney, along with Maconaquah’s Carra Wolf, Lilly Maple and Kaelynn Meyer and Peru’s Graycee Ansari and Maegan Sinkovics

Honorable Mention All-TRC status was awarded to Warrior Bailey Keim, Brave Andrea Selleck and Tiger Caitlyn Mongosa.

In girls’ tennis, All-TRC First Team honors were given to Peru’s Cate Wolfe.

Honorable Mention All-TRC status was awarded to Maconaquah’s Alice Miller and Tiger Molly Gray.

In track and field the winner of each individual event or relay at the TRC Track and Field Meet is considered an All-TRC First Team member.

All-TRC First Team honors in boys’ track and field were earned by Peru’s Tori Forrest in the 300-meter hurdles and the 400-meter relay team of Forrest, Ryan Smith, Greysen Spohn and Dakota Scarlett, Maconaquah’s Nolan Kelly in the 400-meter dash and North Miami’s Canaan Scott in the shot put.

All-TRC First Team honors in girls’ track and field were earned by Maconaquah’s Emily Bowyer in the high jump, Sarah Montgomery in the pole vault and the 1600-meter relay team of Bailey Hays, Ashley Jess, Janet Johnston and Jolee Holland and North Miami’s Nicky Scher in the 1600-meter run

In boys’ golf the top-10 individual golfers at the TRC Boys’ Golf Match is considered an All-TRC First Team member.

Peru picked up its’ second-straight TRC title at the conference match, winning with a team score of 329, before later adding the Peru Boys’ Golf Sectional title to the trophy case.

All-TRC First Team honors in boys’ golf were earned by Peru’s Kash Bellar, who would go on to finish eighth at the IHSAA Boys’ Golf State Finals and earn All-State status, Corbin Robison and Andrew Overton and Maconaquah’s Hayden Williamson.

In addition to the athletics list, the TRC All-Academic teams were announced with honorees being either a junior or senior who reached a minimum GPA and are ranked within a certain percentage of their class.

Miami County was fortunate to have 55 individuals make both the All-Academic team or receive Honorable Mention status.

TRC All-Academic team members from Peru include T. Fred Eddy and Matt Kiefer in boys’ golf, Julia Weeks in girls’ tennis, Elsie Walters in girls’ track, Josh Adejokun, Parker Deniston and Greysen Spohn in boys’ track, Caitlyn Mongosa, Maegan Sinkovics and Courtlynn Crowe in softball and Christopher Dicken, Michael Chandler, Jonah Huppenthal and Daunte Majors in baseball.

Honorable Mention All-Academic team members for the Tigers include Emily Campos in girls’ tennis, Ryan Smith, Adam Garner, Adhir Patel, Ben McCain and Bryce Cochran in boys’ track and Blake Edwards in baseball.

TRC All-Academic team members from Maconaquah include Holly Householder in girls’ tennis, Bailey Hays and Janet Johnston in girls’ track, Porter Hunt and Sam Bourne in boys’ track, Emily Artrip and Josie Pyke in softball and Hunter Hays, Caleb Winegardner, Drake Daugherty, Dalton Farnell and Seth Sparks in baseball.

Honorable Mention All-Academic team members for the Braves include RJ Beam in boys’ golf, Ashley Jess, Emily Bowyer and K’Mia Bontrager in girls’ track, Noah Edgington in boys’ track and Savannah Maston and Carra Wolf in softball.

TRC All-Academic team members from North Miami include Jacob Shurboff and Riley McGuire in boys’ golf, Nicky Scher, Kate Cobler, Madison France, Hannah McVay and Eloisa Buzelli in girls’ track, Trey Mettler in boys’ Track, Ashley Lackman, Bailey Keim and Maryann Freeman in softball and Austin Carter in baseball.

Honorable Mention All-Academic team members for the Warriors include Paris Butler and Shelby Walker in girls’ track and Hannah Hall in softball.

Beyond All-Academic team honors, the conference honors seniors at the TRC Spring Awards Banquet with three different awards.

Scholar Athletes are those with high class rank along with high SAT/ACT scores.

Honorees included Olivia Smith and Zachary Straub from Maconaquah, Kate Cobler and Nicky Scher from North Miami and Caitlyn Mongosa from Peru.

Distinguished Athletes are those who were on the Academic All-Conference teams in five of six seasons between junior and senior year.

Honorees included Baily Hays, Hunter Hays and Holly Householder from Maconaquah, Caitlyn Mongosa and Maegan Sinkovics from Peru and Jacob Shurboff from North Miami.

Additionally, Mental Attitude awards were given to one male and one female from each school.

Honorees included Baily Hays and Hunter Hays from Maconaquah, Maegan Sinkovics and Josh Adejokun from Peru and Olivia Kuhn and Nate Maynard from North Miami.