Login NowClose 
Sign In to perutribune.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Four County to develop crisis stabilization unit

Article provided

LOGANSPORT — The Division of Mental Health and Addiction, an arm The Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA), approved funding for Four County to support the expansion of the crisis continuum. The funding will help to support the development of a Regional Crisis Stabilization Unit.

Four County will begin work to develop a Psychiatric Crisis Stabilization Unit (CSU) for North Central Indiana. The Indiana Division of Mental Health and Addiction has awarded Four County $115,000 in funds to begin this project. Four County will be piloting a 23-hour CSU using the “crisis chair model.” The first step in the project will be a comprehensive needs assessment for the regional area.

“Four County is committed to innovative care models in our rural communities and we couldn’t be more excited about this project and the opportunities it will bring to advance care for Hoosiers in our region. We see such a need for this service and it is a vital way to enhance support for our community members, especially our hospital ERs and law enforcement partners,” stated Bethany Schoenradt, Vice President of Operations, Central Region and Health Services.    

Carrie Cadwell, President/CEO of Four County said: “Expanding the crisis continuum is a priority for Four County. We are very pleased to have been awarded this DMHA grant to pilot a Crisis Stabilization Unit for North Central Indiana. Crisis Stabilization Units have been shown as a great asset to reducing the need for psychiatric hospitalization and addressing comorbid substance use disorders. As with our Inpatient Psychiatric Unit, referrals will be able to come from all surrounding counties”

Four County is a non-profit Community Mental Health Center serving the communities of North Central Indiana for over 40 years.